Water Scenics and Jewish Reflection

A calm day on the canals in Venice, CA.  Check more watery scenes out at Watery Wednesday

The sea, rivers, lakes, ponds, and other watery wonders never fail to bring me happiness and a sense of serenity/calm in which to reflect on my Jewishness.

I see beauty and awe within water scenes, and can’t help but ponder on the visuals before me, and think about how grateful and thankful I am for what inspires me to reflect on Jewish-related subjects.

I remember this particular day, and remember walking the paths in Venice, and crossing over the lovely white bridges, and seeing settings such as this one, before me.  The day was bright and sunny, there was no wind, the stillness resounded with the echoes of nature, as the waves of the sea could be heard in the background.  The melodiousness of the sound of the waves lapping was music to my ears and my heart, causing me to think about the sea and how it intertwines with religions practices.

Many Jews come to Venice or Santa Monica to “cast away their negativeness and sins” during the High Holy Days.  It is an emotional sight to see.

There is so much more I could write about the sea and Jewish beliefs, but I will choose that for another day.

All photography, writing, poetry, etc. is my copyright and may not be reproduced without my express permission.

December 29, 2011 – 3 Tevet, 5772

4 Comments

Filed under Judaism, Photography

4 responses to “Water Scenics and Jewish Reflection

  1. Very nice and so serene looking!
    Do you sometimes go to the Pacific Jewish Center?

  2. What a lovely photo. I am trying to imagine the “yidden” doing Tashlich here.

Leave a Reply

