Art Museum Wonder

A few days ago, I had the privilege of taking my two grandies (five years old in two weeks and one month short of three years old) to the Getty Center, a magnificent art museum sitting high atop the hills in Beverly Hills. I say privilege, because any time I can do something that will impact their creativity, I find it to be a privilege. It was their first time at an art museum, which made it even more of a privilege and momentous time. The world of wonder was seen through their eyes.

When they were told in the car, almost halfway there, where we were going, they were overjoyed! Excitement came out of their mouths, through their eyes, arms and legs, and it was a vision to behold through the rear view mirror!

The tram ride to the top of the hill, where the entrance lies, was a thrill for them, of course. And, the overview of the entire city impressed them…you can see for tens of miles on a clear day. Once we got off the tram, and they saw the entrance, they were extremely excited. They asked me if it was a castle. They kept saying, “Oh, my, gosh over and over”.

They were amazingly well-behaved, considering their ages, and we made it through two pavilions of varied artworks by masters. There was also a family center which they thoroughly enjoyed. It was all hands on, so it was a treat for them to be able to touch, draw, color, paint, pull/tug, and view objects of tones and textures. They enjoyed it so much!

I was proud of them and their interest and curiosity. I loved watching them pick out details in the paintings, things of interest to them. We stayed for a little over three hours, not too long a time, and not too short a time for their first experience.

Needless to say, they loved the tram ride back down the hillside.

When my daughter and son-in-law came home from work, the grandies ran up to them joyously, speaking over their own words, filled with excitement, eager to explain their journey. According to them, “it was exciting, and a beautiful place to go“, and they “want to go back again very soon, like next week“. LOL. They chatted on and on about it.

I love the Getty Center, love the magnificent castle-like architecture, love walking the grounds, love looking out over the entire city from high above, love looking in the varied pavilions at the exhibits, and feel a sense of wonder every time I visit, which is every three or four months.

The photographs are my contribution for Our World Tuesday.

May 8, 2012 – 16 Iyyar, 5772

No permission is granted to reproduce my reviews, prose of any sort, and photos without my permission.

24 Comments

Filed under Photography

24 responses to “Art Museum Wonder

  1. I love your grandchildren’s excitement about the museum. I currently bargain with my daughter about museums – we can go to a museum, she says, if we go to a toy store and a restaurant…

  2. It looks like a lovely place! No wonder you wanted to share it with your grandchildren.

  3. What magical shots of this lovely place.

  4. Hi, Thanks for your visit & taking the time to comment.
    It’s a real treat to share wonderful things with small children, I don’t (so far) have any grandchildren, but I remember when my children were small. Their excitement over new things was infectious!
    Your shot of the tables and view is my favorite, it shows so much space. What a wonder that there are no people sitting there!

  5. Wonderful post – I love to see children discovering all the wonders of a museum. What a gift they then carry through life.

  6. It is a lovely museum and wonderful that they have the hands on activities for the children. So happy for you, that you were able to take your grandchildren too What a fun day!

  7. Al

    Great post, it is fun taking children to places like this. I would love to see the Getty Center, it’s on my list next time I’m in the area.

  8. Oh I love that… a “castle”….It does look sort of like a castle….LOL…..Michelle

  9. Wonderful shots of interesting place.

  10. Pat

    It sounds like you had a lovely day with your grand daughters–one they will always remember. I’d love to visit the Getty Center the next time I’m in LA.

  11. I enjoyed this post about the art museum very much.

  12. Your world couldn’t be more beautiful!! It’s so great to see something you love again — through those new eyes! What a wonderful grandmother thing to do. Lucky kids! (We’ve yet to visit the Getty — usually get to SoCa once a year, to visit my elderly aunt and cousins, always too much to do whilst there. It’s on my bucket list.

Leave a Reply

