Nature’s Calm, Nature’s Wrath

As I strolled around the lake this morning and inhaled its calm, I felt very fortunate. My thoughts turned to those who have already felt the wrath of Hurricane Isaac, and to those who are in the midst of the effects of Hurricane Isaac. My thoughts go out to all of you.

Below is a poem posted on the website Katrina’s Jewish Voices. When you get to the end, you will see the author’s name and age…

HURRICANE KATRINA

Winds are howling; trees are blowing.
Children are scared; lights aren’t glowing.
The next day, the levees broke.
I was sad; some were mad.
Gutters were hanging; swings were clanging.
We had to move and get into a new groove.
We changed to a new school and that was cool.
I couldn’t find my rubber duck; it was in the gross muck.
We had to start new and had a lot of shopping to do.
There’s a lot of traffic;
The pictures on the TV were very graphic.
I have new friends and new shoes.
They helped take away my blues!
Pets are dying; we’re all crying.
Old friends scatter; new friends really do matter!
They make my day and help me find my way!
I have no home or the Superdome.
I got a new jacket and a tennis racquet.
I am a Hurricane Katrina victim/survivor.
I know things will be better.
Katrina is gone, but I’m here living a life.
Rachel Bressler
Age: 11

Visit Nature Notes Wednesday for more wonderful photographs of nature.

Visit Our World Tuesday for more photographhs from around the world.


August 29, 2012 – 11 Elul, 5772

Copyright 2007, L.M. No permission is given to reproduce, copy or use my writings or photographs in any manner.

14 Comments

Filed under Photography

14 responses to “Nature’s Calm, Nature’s Wrath

  1. Powerful words and lovely photos!

  2. Oh and she is only 11. Wow…I guess that experience made her into an adult before her time…I too have been thinking of the poor people in Issac’s path….I hope everyone made good preparations to be safe…This is another side of mother nature that can be very cruel…Michelle

  3. The poem is marvelous for an author of any age, but especially for one so young. Hopefully Issac will not cause a great deal of suffering, but the news tonight doesn’t sound good. I really like your lake pictures.

  4. Wonderful that Rachel was able to express herself so beautifully. If only we could all express so freely, and be heard as well. I can’t bear to watch the news if it is awful.

  5. Yes, nature has such contrasts of cruelty and beauty. My grandfather, a fisherman, knew that, but my life has seemed to take me far from that reality. Along with the growing awareness of getting older, the poem, your words, the photo, and the news – all bring nature’s truth home to me. My heart, too, goes out to the current hurricane survivors and to Rachel, who was able to see two sides of her own misfortune.

  6. Beautiful poem.. every single words describe how the author was frighten and hoping for a new life. Touching indeed. The lake is calm and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

