Winter Reflections

winter reflections

Today is the Tenth of Tevet, and is a Jewish fast day (a minor fast). The Tenth of Tevet marks the beginning of Nebuchadnezzar’s siege of Jerusalem 2,500 years ago. Read about it here, and also here.

winter 6

The poem below is from a Jewish prayer book of mine. I have always found it to be extremely comforting.

I wonder if
anything is impossible
to a G-d
who can make
evergreen trees with black trunks
cast blue shadows
on white snow

-Anonymous

trestle

Today we should reflect on our deeds, and repent for our wrongs.
~~~~~
Speaking of reflecting…I was listening to the news last night, and there was a segment on a man who has a very short time to live. One of his doctors suggested he make a “bucket list”, and so he did. One of the top items was for him to have an iconic type of portrait taken. It was made possible, and he had his photograph taken by a professional photographer. He said, “It’s very important to me to have some kind of image that will remind people of where I was and that I was here, and that’s the most important thing to me,” I thought his statement was so poignant…I shed a few tears.

Here is the online post of his NBCLA TV segment.
~~~~~
My goodness…what a heartfelt story.

Wilhelm Brasse, Auschwitz photographer dies at 95. He was a former prisoner, himself who was forced to take the photographs.
~~~~~

December 23, 2012 – 10 Tevet, 5773

4 Comments

Filed under Photography, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Winter Reflections

  1. Your photos this week are silent and quiet, reflective. As I sift through my father’s belongings, I wonder about what one leaves behind and how the survivors or his descendants will view his things.

  2. I am sure it is a reflective and contemplative time for you, Leora. I often wonder the same thing…

  3. I like that middle shot – the trees and their reflection blend together so well.

Leave a Reply

