Lorri’s Book Review: The Poe Shadow

thepoeshadow2 The Poe Shadow, by Matthew Pearl, is part mystery, part intrigue, part fact, part fiction, but always brilliant in the author’s desire to unearth the details surrounding the death of Edgar Allan Poe. If you like suspense mingled with twisting and turning plots, then this is the book for you!

It is one of life’s peculiar facts that it is usually those no longer alive whose stories preserve the truth….”

Quentin Clarke, an admirer of Poe’s, is immersed in finding out the truth of the circumstances behind Poe’s death, at the risk of his own career as a lawyer. The local police seem uninterested in finding out why Poe died, or how he died. His partner laughs at him, mocks him, yet Clarke is determined to find out the facts, and ends up living and breathing every one of his waking minutes trying to encapsulate the last days of Poe’s life, and what led to Poe’s demise.

Clarke’s obsessive behavior takes him to France, where he meets a mysterious female, and two men claiming to be the “true” person that one of Poe’s characters is fashioned after.

We are given a look at 19th Century Baltimore, from its back streets to its upper echelon of society, from its slave trade to libraries and reading rooms. Pearl takes us on an adventure, both domestic and internationally. No stone is left unturned in his quest to present us a novel filled with the essence of what Baltimore was like, during that time period, from street scenes and scents, attire, transportation, mindsets, social graces, and so much more, our senses are on a constant roller coaster ride. Pearl’s vibrant descriptions and images are filled with clarity.

The author combines mystery with historical fiction, bringing vivid characters through his brilliant writing and research. Pearl, himself, was trying to solve the mystery of the death of Poe, and in the end, gives us much to ponder in this intriguing mystery. Poe would be proud of Matthew Pearl’s accomplishment.

Edgar Allan Poe is buried in the Westminster Presbyterian Cemetery, in Baltimore, MD. A few years back, I visited the Edgar Allan Poe Museum in Richmond VA. It was fascinating.

December 31, 2012 – 18 Tevet, 5773

All rights reserved © Copyright 2010 – All Rights Reserved – No permission is given or allowed to reuse my photography, book reviews, writings, or my poetry in any form/format without my express written consent/permission.

8 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, Historical Fiction, Lorri's Blog, Novels

8 responses to “Lorri’s Book Review: The Poe Shadow

  1. The title of this novel drew me in… I have strong memories of selecting an Edgar Allan Poe book of short stories from my step-day’s bookshelves when I was a not-quite-teenager, as I’d run out of books and the library was closed… I can still feel the faux-leather cover of the book between my fingers! The story of the man imprisoned in a coffin due to narcolepsy still has a shiver run down my spine!

    Another novel to add to the list…! As long as people write, I will never have a dull moment in my life. That’s a comforting thought.

  2. Hm, I like the idea of a book relating to Poe. I bet I would like it even more if I knew Baltimore. Intriguing.

  3. Pingback: Bookish Weekly Review | Ilana-Davita

  4. Pingback: Friday Sunset and Interesting Links | Lorri M. Writings and Photography

  5. Very good review! I read this book a few years ago and have also read another book by Matthew Pearl, “The Dante Club”. (Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment.)

Leave a Reply

