Lorri M. Friday News 5/17/13

2 Mogen david

I reviewed the memoir, Country of Ash: A Jewish Doctor in Poland 1939-1945.

I wrote about Cancer in Varied Forms, this week.

I finished reading The Golem and the Jinni, and I absolutely enjoyed it, although it is not my normal genre of reading.

Blossomsmall

Hannah’s Nook has a delicious sounding Fruity Red Lentil Curry recipe posted.

Leora’s Sketching Out blog has a wonderful colored-pencil drawing: Fishing at the Raritan River: Man and Boy. What are your thoughts on it?

Visit Shiloh Musings and read her Jewish Blog Roundup which has several links to browse.

Zivah writes on Naso – raising us up.

Yidstock 2013 – The Festival of New Yiddish Music

Visit Women of the Wall to see their latest update.

The Jewish Journal has a post about the new documentary: State 194: A Documentary About Palestine.

Jewish Waltz With Planet Earth Retreat, such an interesting concept.

Shabbat Shalom!

8 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, Holocaust/Genocide, Jewish History, Judaism, Lorri's Blog, Memoirs, news

8 responses to “Lorri M. Friday News 5/17/13

  1. Thank you for your posts, and links. I received the galley The Golem and the Jenni, also received a complementary copy with golden edges on the pages. . It is so lovely. I have been wanted to read this novel, and am glad you enjoyed it. I have a book club and organizing a Jewish community book read in our community. Have been wanting to use it, around Golem and the Jenni. With a guest speaker talking about the Golem. FYI

  2. Thank you for the link – and Shabbat Shalom!

  3. I’m wondering if I would like the Golem and Jinni book – I often like fantasy if done well, but one reviewer said it was more like a historical novel. Hm.

    Thank you for the link and the added question about the sketch. I did another drawing (one of just the two people, the man and the boy) and photographed it, but I’m not sure I will have time to post it before my trip.

    • The fantasy aspect was well done, although I had to stretch my beliefs! It is a historical novel, aside from the fantasy aspects. The imagery of olde NYC was incredible, as was the history behind the Bedouins, syria, and more. It was intriguing and fascinating in that respect. On a scale of 1-5, I would give it 3.75. Not quite 4 stars.

  4. Thank you forthright link to my blog. Shavua Tov!

Leave a Reply

