Sunday Scenes – June 30, 2013

knotted

And Judah and Israel dwelt safely, every man under his vine and under his fig tree, from Dan even to Beersheba, all the days of Solomon.”
Biblical Quote

Season of mists and mellow fruitfulness, Close bosom-friend of the maturing sun; Conspiring with him how to load and bless With fruit the vines that round the thatch-eaves run.”
-John Keats

If you think you have had troubles, read this article and think twice: A Face in the Crowd-A Year After Most Extensive Face Transplant in History. I found it to be poignant, astonishing and inspiring. This does not diminish your own problems, don’t get me wrong. This man’s experiences give much to ponder about the human spirit and will.

The month of June has come to an end. Half of the year has gone by. During these past six months I have read many books. My “2013 Books Read” list shows that I have read 73 books. The fact is, I have a few read more than that, but chose to only list the ones shown. The ones I did not list, are not ones I found worthy of mentioning.

I am currently reading The Watchmaker’s Daughter, by Sonia Taitz. I have several more lined up after I finish this one.

I have had a bit of difficulty, lately, reading some works of fiction. I find some of them to be rather boring with no depth to them, either through characters or the story line. I read so many Holocaust-related memoirs and accounts, and read other works of non-fiction, and I think it might have something to do with that. The non-fiction is usually compelling in one form or another, for me. Some books of fiction turn me off, unless they are heavily filled with history, time and place, and word-images I can relate to.

The Golem and the Jinni is a prime example of fiction, but fiction so infused with historical information relating to cultures, lifestyles, city and street visions that encompass time and place. I was totally engrossed in the story and settings. I also feel the same way about Children of the Ghetto: A Study of a Peculiar People, and also the novel Daniel Deronda.

I am not normally one who enjoys “beach reads”. Some people love them, and that is fine. I am not judging anyone’s reading pleasures.

Ah, I could go on and on, but I will not continue.

Enjoy your Monday, and the rest of the week. Shavua tov!

Update: Sorry for the update, but Leora posted the JPix – Jewish Photo Bloggers Carnival 2013, and I felt it was important to include in my post. Thank you, Leora!

June 30, 2013 – 22 Tamuz, 5773

© Copyright 2007 – 2013 – All Rights Reserved – No permission is given or allowed to reuse my photography, book reviews, writings, or my poetry in any form/format without my express written consent/permission.

6 Comments

Filed under Judaism, Lorri's Blog, Photography

6 responses to “Sunday Scenes – June 30, 2013

  1. Lori I think that is why I continuously come back. I think your taste in books are the same as mine. Filled with history, time and place. I just started The Golem and the Jenni and it has already encapsulated me. I am organizing our Jewish Community read in Myrtle Beach, for the first time. We are in the process of a selection committee. But as far as I can see the book is wonderful and that is only 40 pages. Thanks for your book posts very much. I enjoy reading them.

  2. Ah, there is a reason why I use you as a source for books. We have similar tastes. I often find fiction more than a bit shallow or contrived. But then when the fiction is really, really good …

    The Golem and the Jinni is one I want to read soon.

  3. I’m a beach reader, I admit, especially in the summertime. Reading is my escape and I generally don’t want to work too hard to do it. My professional reading and editing is dense and difficult and often highly technical, so I’m less inclined to read anything terribly heavy or difficult in my free time though I do occasionally. Still, even my beach fiction has to have strongly developed characters, good writing, and a strong sense of snark. Can’t read utter trash after all ;).

    • I have read “beach” reads that do have depth to them and realized characters. It just depends on the book. We all read for varied reasons. I agree on the editing, etc., and not wanting to read heavy or deep works when not working. I was speaking more of trashy works. :)

Leave a Reply

