Sea Floor

seafloor

I have read over 1,500 book pages the past week. Those pages were within the covers of two books:

I read The Rise of David Levinsky.

I also read Norman Mailer: A Double Life.

I chose to read The Rise of David Levinsky for its depiction of late 19th century, and early 20th century New York’s garment industry. I thought it would be a fascinating subject, and it most definitely was. I will be reviewing it at some point.

There were some similarities between Levinsky and Mailer, as far as ambition, which I thought was interesting. Levinsky was an immigrant from Russia, and Mailer was an American, yet their ambitions were similar…the search for respect, recognition and power seems to have ruled both of them. I will be writing more on comparisons in the future.
~~~
You must not lose faith in humanity. Humanity is an ocean; if a few drops of the ocean are dirty, the ocean does not become dirty.
-Mahatma Gandhi

We are tied to the ocean. And when we go back to the sea, whether it is to sail or to watch – we are going back from whence we came.
-John F. Kennedy

October 22, 2013 – 18 Cheshvan, 5774

Ⓒ All rights reserved © Copyright 2007 – 2013 – All Rights Reserved – No permission is given or allowed to reuse my photography, book reviews, writings, or my poetry in any form/format without my express written consent/permission.

3 Comments

Filed under Lorri's Blog, Photography

3 responses to “Sea Floor

  1. I enjoyed your comparison. I’m sure it could be more in depth (if you chose to write more).

Leave a Reply

