Skies, You’ll Never Walk Alone, Medals of Valor, JPIX, Shabbat

The first photograph is not greyscale or black and white.

As you walk through the storm, Hold your head up high, And don’t be afraid of the dark, At the end of the storm, Is a golden sky, And the sweet silver song of the lark, Walk on through the wind, Walk on through the rain, Though your dreams be tossed and blown. Walk on, walk on, With hope in your hearts, And you’ll never walk alone, You’ll never walk alone.

– Oscar Hammerstein II – Lyrics
Carousel,’You’ll Never Walk Alone’ – music by Richard Rodgers.

The song was subsequently released in a pop version by Gerry and the Pacemakers in 1963 and adopted as a club song by Liverpool football club.

Skywatch Friday

The Simon Wiesenthal Center presented Medals of Valor to Jerry Bruckheimer, Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords, Astronaut Mark Kelly, Holocaust survivor Elisabeth Mann and Members of Tuskegee Airmen.

Are you an Anglophile? Love England and/or English history? If so, visit Hannah’s Nook and answer this 60-question British Culture Quiz.

The next JPIX is June 24th.

Shabbat Shalom!

June 1, 2012 – 11 Sivan, 5772

29 Comments

Filed under Judaism, Photography, Uncategorized

29 responses to “Skies, You’ll Never Walk Alone, Medals of Valor, JPIX, Shabbat

  1. Love the third photo – magnificent sky! Thanks for linking to JPiX.

  2. Shabbat Shalom! There was drama in your skies this week. Fine photos!

  3. Wonderful shots of the beautiful sky.

  4. Ominous but wonderful skies!
    Thanks for linking to my post. Shabbat Shalom!

  5. I didn’t know all that about “You’ll Never walk Alone” but Carousel is my favorite musical ever. (I”m just sentimental that way..)…..I love your gray skies.

  6. Great sequence!! Re: the first photo. In the middle of winter when the skies, are grey against the snow you get the same monochrome effect. Boom & Gary of the Vermilon River, Canada.

  7. The words of that song are very encouraging! I think I’ve heard it… Great skies you shot!

  8. luluberoo

    I’m happy to have found you–the book reviews will be so helpful in finding new books on the Jewish experience.
    I’m a Jew by choice; my husband and I converted in Feb, 2012 on our 35th wedding anniversary.

    Shabbat Shalom!

  9. A very inspirational post. I have never seen such amazing, dramatic skies!

  10. That song I song in our elementary school chorus..the music teacher was pressured by my mother as I can’t carry a tune..but I loved it…

  11. the last photo is phenomenal…Shabbat Shalom!

  12. Very dramatic looking skies! Quite the opposite of what I see here in the San Francisco Bay Area!

  13. All of your sky photos are wonderful, but I really like the first one. I think I would be heading for cover rather than taking a picture if I saw those skies.

Leave a Reply

