Friday News – April 5, 2013

universal flow

I am excited! A long-awaited book has finally been published! I ordered Bristol House: A Novel, by Beverly Swerling, this morning. I have read all of her novels, so far, and have enjoyed each one.

I finished reading a very compelling book: Triumph and Tragedy – Journeying Through 1000 Years of Jewish Life in Poland.

I am almost finished reading The End of Your Life Book Club.

I reviewed: The Life Transforming Diet: Based on Health and Psychological Principles of Maimonides.

I am attending a VeJewtarian Havdalah on Saturday night, at a local vegetarian restaurant. We will welcome the new week with a Havdalah candle lighting, blessing wine and smelling some spices, and then have dinner together.

Visit Hannah’s Nook for a recipe for Leek Oatmeal Loaf.

Leora posted a beautiful water color, and also a lovely poem, written by Valeri Drach Weidmann.

I will be volunteering at a Yom HaShoa Memorial Service this Sunday at Mt. Sinai Memorial Parks and Mortuaries in Simi Valley, CA. It isn’t too late to send in an acknowledgement to volunteer, so if you live locally, you might consider doing so.

Ashkenazis and Crohn’s Disease

Ruth Prawer Jhabvala has died. She died on April 3, 2013. May her memory be for a Loving Blessing.

Rest in Peace, Roger Ebert.

Shabbat Shalom!

April 5, 2013 – 25 Nisan, 5773

All rights reserved © Copyright 2007 – All Rights Reserved – No permission is given or allowed to reuse my photography, book reviews, writings, or my poetry in any form/format without my express written consent/permission.

8 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, Judaism, Lorri's Blog, Uncategorized

8 responses to “Friday News – April 5, 2013

  1. Thank you Lorri for the link to my blog!
    ‘VeJewtarian Havdalah’ sounds wonderful! Hope you enjoy it.
    Shabbat Shalom!

  2. You’ve had a very busy week. I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

  3. oh that Havdallah sounds right up my vegetarian alley Lorri! All the books you’ve introduced look fascinating. Wishing you a sweet, sweet Shabbos!

  4. Thank you for the link – glad you enjoyed the watercolor and poem.

    I am sure I would find the Poland history book interesting.

    Group havdalah sounds nice – we had a sort of group havdalah at a friend’s house last night. As my daughter’s friend’s father is Persian, he says the Sephardi havdalah and uses rose water (we use cloves for b’samim).

  5. Nice on your group Havdalah! Mine was was nice, also, and the vegetarian restaurant aspect was, as well.

    The Poland history book is very interesting, and there was a lot to learn from it, within its 250 pages.

Leave a Reply

