Bookish Friday-October 3, 2013

inlet

I have recently added a couple of new books to my to-read stack:


Rav Hisda’s Daughter: Book I: Apprentice: A Novel of Love, the Talmud and Sorcery
, by Maggie Anton

I totally enjoyed Maggie Anton’s trilogy on Rashi’s Daughters, and look forward to this book.

The Oxford Book of Jewish Stories, by Ilan Stavans (recommended by Leora)


Paris, The Novel
, by Edward Rutherfurd

I am in the middle of reading New York, The Novel, by Edward Rutherfurd. Well, I shouldn’t say “middle”, as I am about 18% into it, as it is almost 900 pages. I do enjoy Rutherfurd’s books, though.

Blossomsmall

Leora’s recipe for Stuffed Squash with Yams sounds delicious.

On a very serious note, Batya/me-ander has a post regarding a breast milk mix-up…in other words a baby received breast milk from an HIV-positive mother.

Shabbat Shalom!

October 4, 2013 – 30 Tishrei, 5774

Ⓒ All rights reserved © Copyright 2007 – 2013 – All Rights Reserved – No permission is given or allowed to reuse my photography, book reviews, writings, or my poetry in any form/format without my express written consent/permission.

6 Comments

Filed under Judaism, Lorri's Blog, Photography

6 responses to “Bookish Friday-October 3, 2013

  1. It is always interesting and inspiring to know what you are reading Lorri! Shabbat Shalom!

  2. Thank you for the link! I have another one for your to-read list, if it’s not there already: In the Courtyard of the Kabbalist
    By Ruchama King Feuerman

    It’s currently only available in digital version, so I’m slowly reading it on my iPad. I prefer the old fashion format, mostly because of Shabbat but also, I like physical books.

    • Thanks, Leora. I do have it on my to-read list, due to you mentioning it on FB. I prefer the physical book, also, but do use my Kindle for books I do not want to buy or can’t get at the library. There is nothing like the feel, scent and visual of a book.

Leave a Reply

