Sunday Scenes: December 7, 2014

riverwalk

A few days ago, I drove into a public parking lot, stepped out, and proceeded to walk along the river walkway paralleling Columbia River in WA, on a cold autumn morning. Brr…the morning temperature was 24 degrees! I pulled the hood of my jacket over the wool hat I was wearing, wrapped my scarf a bit more over my nose and mouth, and took in the lovely views along the river walk.

riverwalk2

The river walkway was empty, and I was the only person walking on it, for about 1/2 a mile, and then a runner passed me by, running in the opposite direction. She said good morning to me, and I responded in the same way. She had on knee-length running shorts a long-sleeved shirt, running knee-high socks, running shoes, a ski cap, and gloves. I understand the fact she was wearing shorts, even though it was frigid out. When running (or even walking), one’s body motion can often overcome the cold temperatures.

river view

I was dressed for the weather, probably more than necessary. Aside from my forehead feeling cold, the rest of me was quite comfortable and warm, the entire time I walked. I walked for about two miles. When I returned to my car, I had a thermos of coffee waiting for me. I sat inside my car, facing the river, sipping my coffee, and was grateful for nature’s loveliness before me.

4 Comments

Filed under Lorri's Blog, Photography

4 responses to “Sunday Scenes: December 7, 2014

  1. The weather may have been frigid, but the photos are beautiful. I’ll bet that coffee tasted great.

  2. Good for you, for getting out despite the cold. I walked to the bank today, and usually I enjoy that walk. Today, I spent one minute extra enjoying the warmth of the bank before heading out again. Love all the water in your photos.

    • Thank you, Leora. I don’t know how often I will brave the walk in low temperatures. LOL. They were in the low teens a couple of days ago. I am sure you enjoyed the warmth of the bank.

Leave a Reply

