Shabbat Shalom!

I am involved in reading The Source, a novel by James Michener. It is my third reading.

I read it decades ago, the first time, right after its publication, and read it a second time about twenty years ago. I am reading it for a book club. I love this novel so much, for varied reasons. The archeological aspect is so intriguing and fascinating. The kibbutz story line, is also, and the characters that wind their way through that lifestyle.

I love the archeology digs, within the story and how each time period is ascertained by the characters to be correct and documented. I enjoy reading about the characters within a specific period of time, their daily lives, their social aspects and their mindsets and growth.

Well, onward I go, synagogue calls me in an hour.

Shabbat Shalom! For those who do not celebrate, have a great weekend.

6 Comments

Filed under Judaism, Lorri's Blog

6 responses to “Shabbat Shalom!

  1. Good for you,Lorri, reading James Michener’s THE SOURCE for the third time. I fall into space with “too many books, too little time.” The fact that Michener was 40 when he started writing is so encouraging to me.

  2. Thanks, Evelyn! I read 2-4 books a week. This particular book, has the page the size of two books, in reality.

  3. Shavua tov. I have not read Michener in years. Maybe I will re-read it soon. I remember loving his book on Hawaii.

  4. I loved Hawaii, also. I enjoyed Chesapeake, The Covenant and Centennial, among other.

    Shavua tov!

  5. I also loved The Source and Hawaii when I read them many, many years ago. I’ve never re-read either, sad to say – so many other books that I want to read for the first time. That saying, “So many books, so little time.” really applies!

Leave a Reply

