Sunday Scenes: August 30, 2015

private road

I do not ask to walk smooth paths nor bear an easy load. I pray for strength and fortitude to climb the rock strewn road. Give me such courage and I can scale the hardest peaks alone, And transform every stumbling block into a stepping stone. – Gale Brook Burket

Blossomsmall

Family heirlooms rescued from Nazis were allegedly stolen by Wells Fargo contractors.

Shame on Wells Fargo Bank!

Blossomsmall

Do you want to learn more about Selichot? If so, visit this link.

Blossomsmall

Illinois man knocks over nine-foot menorah, and is arrested.

Blossomsmall

Kirk Douglas and is wife will be donating $80 million in new gifts to various charities!

Blossomsmall

The Nazi Gold Train has been found, confirmed by Polish Ministry.

Blossomsmall

2 Comments

Filed under Judaism, Lorri's Blog, Photography, Quotations

2 responses to “Sunday Scenes: August 30, 2015

  1. What a beautiful path you present in your photo. It doesn’t look too difficult to travel – I see no stumbling blocks or high peaks in your dirt road. I looked at the link on Selichot – my husband has been saying slichot for a month, as he goes to a Sephardi minyan. They start at 6 am and finish at about 8 am. One of my friends (a woman) said she loves selichot. If you read them in detail, you will see they are beautiful poetry.

    • Thank you, Leora. The path was not a difficult one, in reality, and as for me, I have crossed many difficult terrains, figuratively and literally.
      I like the idea of your husband’s Sephardi minyan saying Slichot for the entire month of Elul. I know Ashkenazim do not normally say Selichot for that long, although I know some who do.

      Selichot are lovely and poetic, indeed.

Leave a Reply

