Jewaicious’ Sunday Scenes 1/22/12

I enjoy taking photographs that display forms of shadow play. I love how shadows can depict and/or convey mood and light, structure and texture. The photographs below were both taken at local parks, one with a lake, and one that has a mountainous background.

Visit the links below to see more Straight out of the Camera Sunday, and more Scenic Sunday photographs from around the world.

SOOC Sundayjpg

Scenic Sunday

Shadow Shot Sunday

Book news:

I will be writing a review of The Emperor of Lies: A Novel, by Steve Sem-Sandberg, within the next couple of days.

I have finished reading Two Rings: A story of love and war, by Millie Werber and Eve Keller.

I have almost finished reading The How & Why of Jewish Prayer, by Israel Rubin.

I am intrigued by the architectural history and by the decisions made regarding Beth Sholom Synagogue, and might just try to locate the book, Beth Sholom Synagogue: Frank Lloyd Wright and Modern Religious Architecture, by Joseph M. Siry, in a local library.

The Modern Jewish Experience in World Cinema sounds like an excellent read.

A Daughter of Two Mothers sounds both heartbreaking and uplifiting.

Have a good week! Be well, take care.

All photography, writing, poetry, etc. is my copyright and may not be reproduced without my express written permission.

January 22, 2012 – 257Tevet, 5772

36 Comments

January 21, 2012 · 8:41 pm

36 responses to “Jewaicious’ Sunday Scenes 1/22/12

  1. Love the angle of the first shot!

  2. Great photos! I am looking forward to your book reviews. Israel Rubin’s work sounds good but the book is huge!

  3. lovely shadows here…thank you so much for visiting my blog. Shavuah tov:-)

  4. Al

    I love the shadow play in these two photos, excellent shots.

  5. Lovely shots,wish I was there it looks beautiful 🙂

  6. I love shadow shots too and yours are lovely! Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment. I appreciate it! 🙂

  7. Lovely Shadow Shots. The scenery in both shots are beautiful with the blue skies, the lake and the mountains. And, great shadows to boot. Nice!

  8. Kelly

    I like how the shadows lead our eyes in both of these shots. Very nice!

  9. great shots both of them. 🙂

  10. The fence and trellis make for great shadows – the lines are straight and true. These shadows that are so linear that they contrast so well withe the curvy landscape beyond their edges. Neatly captured!

  11. A very nice group of shadows.

  12. Lovely photos .. and since its cold and grey and rainy and icy here .. I like them even more because they are sunny!

  13. I love the shadow of the pergola .

  14. Great feeling that the shadows are on the move in the first photo encouraged by the powerful wave of visual line into the image! And a lovely compact shadow pattern in the second photo!

  15. Hi there – I have just returned from the wild, woolly and less that wonderful world of wireless only internet – so now I’m catching up.

    Great use of shadows – I think that they can be really fun to play with – taking pictures of things that are not really there!

    Cheers – Stewart M – Australia

  16. Wow, love the curves contrasted with the angles in your first shot. Great finds. It looks so nice and warm and sunny where you are. Snowy here in Connecticut!

    Have a fun week seeking shadows!

  17. Those are beautiful shadow shots!

Leave a comment