Sky, Necks, Shabbat

Skywatch Friday

Nora Ephron passed away the other day. I am an avid reader of her books, essays, and I have watched all of her films. Some of her writings and films are cute, humorous, some serious, but no matter the genre, they always speak of women, independence, perseverance and realizing potential.

One of her books, I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman, is one that I find to be a great asset in the area of women and aging. It is filled with much humor, yet depicts a serious look at the aging process.

It is both a poignant and outright hilarious book, bringing much comic relief to women who are aging, although it has serious undertones. With Ephron’s sensible, yet comedic style (after all, she did bring us When Harry Met Sally and Sleepless in Seattle, along with Julia and Julie), we are infused with scents, creams, lotions bath oils, food and cooking, the likes of which cling to us, long after we finish the book.

Her book chronicles the downfall (literally) of a woman’s aging body, from sagging breasts and chins, to wrinkled knees and elbows, to thinning hair and thickening necks. Each page is crammed with laughter and tears, causing smiles to form on our faces…adding a few more wrinkles with each smile.

Nora Ephron was not getting older gracefully, and admits it. Nothing she did could slow the process down…and she was fighting back at it every second and hour of the day.

If you want to wallow and feel bad about yourself, this book is a must read, and if you want to feel good about yourself, and laugh your way through those bad-feel days, then, I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman, is a book for you.

My deep condolences to her family. May Nora Ephron Rest in Peace.

Shabbat Shalom!

27 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, Judaism

27 responses to “Sky, Necks, Shabbat

  1. Your photo is beautiful. Nora Ephron was a marvelous writer. It will be a long time before anyone like her comes along.

  2. Wonderful shot. That book sounds interesting.

  3. I loved the movie and although I’m not familiar with the book, I must get this one! Indeed, growing old gracefully is a challenge to many of us. Thank you for sharing. Your photo of deep blue sky, rich green grass is so inviting!

  4. A sad loss.

    Lovely blue sky shot.

  5. A great loss!! Boom & Gary of the Vermilon River, Canada.

  6. Pingback: Review with Raritan Avenue Traffic - Here in Highland Park

  7. It is a great loss! Your view and sky are lovely, happy skywatching.

  8. Yes..it is time to re-read some of her books…

  9. Gorgeous! Visiting late from Sky Watch Friday.

    Please come take a peek at my Sky Shots, have a great weekend!

  10. What a lovely tribute! Shavua tov!

  11. I have not read Nora’s books, but your remarks about her works are lovely. The sky photo you show here is so peaceful and serene. Blessings.

  12. thanks for visiting my skywatch…I enjoyed this blog very much as I am 71 almost 72 and feeling the aging coming on…lol!

  13. Thank you for the tribute to Nora Ephron…I loved that book! And almost cried when I read about her death. Thank you for articulating my feelings!.

  14. Pingback: Review with Raritan Avenue Traffic – Leora Wenger

Leave a comment