Sunday Scenes – Last one of 2012

tree shadows

The pictures of the pelicans, great white egret and other birds were taken about a week ago while walking at the lake. The shadow photograph was taken then, as well.

Conference Time

The Beak of the Pelican
By J. Patrick Lewis
She looks for wiggly fishes,
At least so it appears,
To stuff inside the suitcase
That’s swinging from her ears.

And though she’s very graceful
When flying round and round,
How does she get that faceful
Of luggage off the ground?

Pelican White Egret

Visit Shadow Shot Sunday for more shadowy scenes from around the globe.

shadow shot sunday

Visit Scenic Sunday for more photographs from around the world.

scenic sunday

Visit Straight Out of the Camera Sunday for more photographs from around the planet.

straight out of the camera sunday

December 30, 2012 – 17 Tevet, 5773

All rights reserved © Copyright 2010 – All Rights Reserved – No permission is given or allowed to reuse my photography, book reviews, writings, or my poetry in any form/format without my express written consent/permission.

19 Comments

Filed under Lorri's Blog, Photography

19 responses to “Sunday Scenes – Last one of 2012

  1. Your photos are always so serene, and inspire me to get out my camera….but I don’t have the “eye”. Your shadow photo is amazing.. Is that a golden, much like my Sadie girl?

  2. Thanks, Es. Yes, it is a golden, and its owner was behind it, but not in the photo. Yes, like your girlie Sadie. xo

  3. The second photo is lovely. I like the fact of these two types of birds making a different line.
    Thanks for sharing and commenting on my entry.
    Happy New Year.

  4. Hi Lorri, I love the poem, it suits so well with your lovely photos of the pelicans! It must be very special being able to see then so close by!
    Wishing you a Happy New Year!

  5. Al

    Very pretty and serene photos. Have a great New Year!

  6. LOL..Yes how do they get off the ground..but in my ‘rescues” of ducks, geese and a great blue heron I was surprised at how very light they are even the canada geese…Michelle

  7. Yes, they are light, surprisingly. LOL, love that poem.

  8. Lovely photos!

    Here’s another poem about the pelican, by Dixon Lanier Merritt:

    A wonderful bird is the pelican,
    His bill will hold more than his belican,
    He can take in his beak
    Enough food for a week
    But I’m damned if I see how the helican!

  9. Wonderful lake views! Clearly the pelicans think it’s rather a great spot too! And love the shadow patterns in the first photo!

  10. Beautiful shots. I love seeing the pelicans. They are such fun birds to watch.

  11. Looks like a beautiful afternoon to stroll around.

    My Shadow Shots
    Happy New Year!

Leave a comment