Jewaicious Honey Cake Recipe

 

 

I love honey cake, and so does my family.  My friends also tell me that they like my honey cake, and when someone tries it for the first time, the person usually asks for my recipe.  The photograph above, is of one of my finished honey cakes.

Here it is:

-Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).

3 1/2 cups sifted all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

1 1/2 teaspoons ground allspice

1 teaspoon ground ginger

4 eggs

3/4 cup sugar

4 tablespoons vegetable oil

2 cups honey

1/2 cup strong brewed coffee (decaf is fine)

1/2 cup almonds (optional)  I normally don’t use the almonds

2-3 ounces slivered almonds for topping (optional) I use them on occasion, but not normally

I have made it with 1/2 cup of raisins, but prefer it without them.

I use a bundt cake or tube/fluted pan to cook it in.  It will fit into three loaf pans, also.

-Sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, baking soda, cloves, ginger, cinnamon and allspice.

-In a different bowl, beat the eggs.  Beat eggs lightly with an electric mixer (hand mixer or other), and gradually add the sugar.

-Beat the oil, honey, and coffee into the eggs and sugar. Stir flour mixture into egg mixture. Chop the almonds. Stir into batter.

-Grease the pan.  Pour the batter into the pan.  Bake for 60 to 75 minutes in bundt or fluted pan, until cake tests done (it springs back when you lightly touch the center of it). Do not over bake. Let cool 15 minutes and remove from pan. I baked it for 55 minutes and it came out perfect. Ovens vary, so keep an eye on the cake.

If you use the loaf pans the baking time is approximately 45-55 minutes.

You can wrap it in foil when the cake is completely cooled down, and if tightly wrapped, will last for one week at room temperature.

With the High Holy Days about to begin, I thought this would be a nice addition for your Break-the-Fast table.

10 Comments

Filed under Judaism, Recipes

10 responses to “Jewaicious Honey Cake Recipe

  1. Honey cake is all sorts of yum.

  2. Yum. This one is a maybe – I will make at least one next week. I like the idea of using the almonds.

  3. Pingback: Rosh Hashana Recipes - Cakes, Brisket, Simanim

  4. Pingback: Honey Cake for the New Year | Lorri M. Writings and Photography

  5. Do you have to use coffee?

  6. Pingback: Rosh Hashana Recipes – Leora Wenger

  7. Pingback: Guest Poem: The Lament of the People of Sodom – Leora Wenger

Leave a comment