Skies, Unleavened Pound Cake, Shabbat

I enjoy looking up, especially through trees, when walking in a nature or natural setting. I like it when one can see jet trails within tree branches, such as in this capture.

I like the view-through effect, looking between or through trees in order to see the sky.

I liked the way the sky was reflected in the water.

It is time for Skywatch Friday! Visit here, for more sky scenes from around the world.

Tonight I will light my Shabbat candles, and will reflect on the Passover/Pesach, which will be upon us sooner than we might realize. Friday, April 6, 2012 is Passover eve. That is one week away, and coincidentally, it falls on Shabbat.

I have begun the ritual house cleaning, the storing, moving, lending and disposing of items, both food and otherwise. I still have to bake and prepare a few things, and will get to it immediately, in order to finish cleaning house.

I will be making my traditional unleavened pound cake. I serve it with small glass bowls of apricot preserves, orange marmalade, and strawberry preserves placed around the pound cake on a large platter. The recipe and a photo of a finished pound cake is below:

Unleavened Pound Cake

Ingredients:
1 cup butter
1 cup sugar (I use sugar substitute)
4 eggs (I use egg substitute for cholesterol purposes)
1 1/2 tsp.vanilla + a dribble more
1/4 tsp.nutmeg
2 c. flour (for Passover I used 5 /8 cup of potato starch for each cup of flour mentioned in unleavened recipe)
1/4 tsp. salt

Directions:
Cream butter, gradually adding sugar until light and fluffy. Add vanilla. Add eggs, one at a time. Sift together flour, salt and nutmeg.

Gradually add dry ingredients to egg mixture and beat until thoroughly blended. Turn batter into greased loaf pan or bundt cake pan. Bake at 325° for 1 hour. Cool cake in pan. Check after 50 minutes to make sure it doesn’t overcook, as ovens vary. Makes one loaf or bundt cake.

Don’t be alarmed that it won’t turn out to be as high as normal, remember, it is an unleavened pound cake.

Please take a moment to look up to the skies, and reflect on events that have transpired where you live, in your personal life, in the world, and within your family. Be well, stay safe.

Shabbat Shalom!

March 30, 2012 – 7 Nisan, 5772

No permission is granted to reproduce my reviews, prose of any sort, and photos without my permission.

28 Comments

Filed under Judaism, Photography, Recipes

28 responses to “Skies, Unleavened Pound Cake, Shabbat

  1. I really like your perspective of looking at the sky through the trees.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

  2. I love the shots looking up through the trees and also the reflection in the water. Beautiful sequence. Happy Weekend!

  3. What a beautiful reflection and lovely tree sky. Your photos are wonderful. I’ve never used potato starch in baking, so I would like to try it someday. Have a great weekend!

  4. So beautiful!

    Visiting late from Sky Watch , hope you could still visit my Sky Shot.

  5. Beautiful skies and creative shots!

  6. ‘I think that I shall never see, a poem lovely as a tree’ – 🙂
    Your pond shot is lovely and serene!
    Thanks for the reminder to take some time for reflection.

  7. You did a wonderful job of putting together nature and observance..Shabbat Shalom!

  8. I love the sky framed through the trees. And I so appreciate your sharing your traditions. I love learning new things in this beautiful (and painless) way! (And I would love to share the pound cake ;>)!

  9. I think my first comment went to spam or something. Just wanted to say I love the sky framed by the trees. And especially that I love learning about your traditions and am very grateful to you for sharing the wonderful information (especially in the middle of what sounds like a very busy time)! And I wish I could share a piece of that pound cake! Thank you.

  10. Your skywatching shots look like a perfect spot for a picnic too! Thanks for visiting my SWF. Enjoy!

  11. The skies and the reflection shots on the lily pond is beautiful!

  12. I am having a problem leaving comments on wordpress so I hope the last one I made got through. I definitely want to make sure you know I appreciate your unleavened pound cake recipe!

  13. Fantastic indeed. Thanks for visiting my blog.

Leave a comment