Sunday Scenes – June 10, 2012

The Japanese Garden – Suiho En, is a stunning slice of beauty, nature and heavenly-looking visuals located within the bustling San Fernando Valley (SFV). Who knew such quietude and loveliness existed within the SFV.

Take a virtual tour, you won’t be disappointed.

I came across the gardens quite by accident. I have lived in the SFV almost 40 years, and never knew of The Japanese Garden’s existence. I thought I knew the SFV inside out. Wrong!

I was driving with my grandies, looking to see if there was another entrance to a different site, when I saw a sign for The Japanese Gardens. I couldn’t believe my eyes. So, there we went, off on another one of our unexpected adventures, as I made a u-turn in the road!

I took quite a few photographs, as many as I could with the grandies wanting to go here or there within the garden grounds. I heard Emmie say, “Oh no, not another picture, grammy”, several times, and of course, Logan followed suit, echoing her. But, I also let them point to scenes they wanted me to take a capture of. Four photographs from the gardens are below. One begins the post.

Both of my grandies wanted me to take the photograph directly above. And, they had fun, jumping from step to step, as you can see below.

It was a delightful and serene time. The grounds are exquisite, calming, and I was in awe due to the beauty of it all. The grandies loved it, and said they want to go back again one day soon.

Visit Shadow Shot Sunday for more scenes from around the world.

Visit Straight Out of the Camera Sunday for more scenes from around the world.

© Copyright 2010-2012 – All Rights Reserved – No permission is given or allowed to reuse my photography, book reviews, writings, or my poetry in any form/format without my express written consent/permission.

June 10, 2012 – 20 Sivan, 5772

22 Comments

Filed under Photography, Uncategorized

22 responses to “Sunday Scenes – June 10, 2012

  1. Kelly

    Love those stepping stones! This truly does look like a perfectly serene place to visit.

  2. Thank you, Kelly. It is extremely serene.

  3. Gorgeous, love that one with the kids!
    Shadow Shots post. Have a great weekend.

  4. Such a beautiful place and I, too, love the shot with the children and the stepping stones! Hope you’re enjoying a lovely weekend!

    Sylvia

  5. Places like this are so intriguing for their gentle style and beauty! Gorgeous photos!

  6. What a gorgeous spot and a wonderful discovery. It looks like a real oasis from life’s daily chaos.

  7. The garden is so beautiful. Thanks for the tour.

  8. I’m glad you found this garden and shared it with us. Your photos are beautiful, and it looks as if your grandchildren had fun ‘rock-hopping’.

  9. Ralph

    When I hear the term SFV, I think of freeways like the Ventura, and think of shopping and lots of tract housing. So hustle is what we see, yet this quiet oasis is a full 180-degree turn from how we usually think. A place to unwind amongst nature and blue skies and a far cry from schedules, crowds and having to be somewhere all the time…a wonderful place and post!

  10. how fun. I want to do this. 🙂 They really know how to make a garden in Japan.

  11. Love the stepping stones..I have always been taken with Japanese gardens.. I think it stems back to when my Mother was doing bonsai..which she lost in her house fire..but she was really devoted and I remember how calming it was…

  12. Such peace and tranquility!
    I’d be just like the kids on those stepping stones. 🙂
    Lovely shots!!!

Leave a comment